Immediately jump to

Margaret's book:

In April 2017 Margaret Brandman's 'Cosmic Wheel of the Zodiac' song cycle performed by Baritone Martin Cooke and the composer, was aired in two half-hour programs on Sydney radio station FINE MUSIC 102.5 FM. The DVD of these songs is now available. View the Performance and Recordings page for details.

September 2017: Margaret travels to Prague for a concert performance of her 'Cosmic Wheel of the Zodiac' song cycle by the Prague Mixed Choir at 7.30pm on the 14th of September in the concert hall of the Czech Music Museum. The choir will be recording the cycle for PARMA recordings. View the Performance and Recordings page for details.

Three new art songs in the collection titled 'From the Mountains to the Sea' for Mezzo-Soprano or Baritone voice and piano are now available. View the page for From the Mountains to the Sea for details.

Sensations recorded in the Czech Republic by the Moravian Philharmonic Orchestra has been receiving a great deal of international airplay since it was released in May 2016. View the Performance and Recordings page for more information.

'Warm Winds in Havana' suite for Saxophone Quartet and Percussion, recorded in Cuba last year, has been on air on many Jazz Radio programs around the world and was featured on radio HRT Croatia on April 10th this year. ABRAZO compilation CD.


Six Contemporary Pieces

Hot Trax

Piano performance pieces with a hint of Jazz

Intermediate to Advanced level

In this exciting set of original compositions Margaret Brandman explores many contemporary writing techniques including: modern two-part writing, extended chords, eastern and pentatonic scales, serial techniques, rhythmic variety and a hint of blues and jazz.

They provide excellent examples of these styles for students of contemporary composition. Several works are listed in the Anzca piano syllabus. (*)

  • Badinarie No.1
  • Badinarie No.2
  • Invention
  • Tango Tranquille* (grade 7)
  • Sunshowers on the River
  • Mini-Suite